Furled leaders, school me

franklin

franklin

I've seen some references in recent posts to furled leaders. This has peaked my interest as I have no experience with them and know very little about their use. Fill me in.

I use them exclusively. Feel they're easier to turn over as the butt section is more supple and they seem to allow a smoother, more relaxed transfer of energy. I feel this part is just a personal preference deal vs. traditional leaders.

Biggest pros IMO, and why I ultimately use them though are based more from a convenience/ease of us perspective. You spend wayyyy less time messing with your leader, and they last a long time. There's a loop to loop type deal on the tippet end and you just add your tippet to that. You never really have to replace the furled section til it wears out...My Brookie ones that get beat to all heck last a season+. My WW and big stream Trout ones last multiple years. I've never had one catastrophically fail and had to replace it while on the stream. When they start to wear out the individual furled pieces of line start to fray, so you can tell its demise is coming and just swap it out at home before your next outing. At $10ish a piece, they're more expensive than a tapered leader, but are still more cost effective because of how long they last...you're never cutting it back and never have to "rebuild" a leader on the stream.

At the tippet end if I'm fishing anything 4x or bigger I just loop it straight to the loop on the furled leader. 5x or smaller I'll step it down once...so maybe 18"-24" of 3x or 4x looped to the leader, then my desired length of 5x or 6x.

I've been using furled leaders exclusively for several years. There are quite a few good ones out there. This year I'm using Zen but I have tried Blue Sky, FeatherCraft, Streamside and Cuthroat.