Digital SLR

C

clydeman

Looking to buy a new digital SLR camera with appropriate lens to shoot some pics of the flies that I tie. Any advice on best camera and lenses that I would need greatly appreciated. Also any tips on best set up to photograph flies as I am a novice photographer.
Thanks

You may wants to check out these folks. Do a search or ask there. There is some real knowledge there.

http://www.itinerantangler.com/cgi-bin/board/YaBB.pl?board=Photography

I'm selling my canon rebel xt body for 450 (warranties still good until next Feb)..I'll throw in a camera bag and a spare battery with it. not a thing wrong with it. You can pic up a decent macro lens for 100 bucks if you look hard enough.

in the pics I posted of the flies, I was shooting with a standard 1:1 ratio 18-55 mm lens and holding the camera. Had I mounted on a tripod the pics would be even better. You really don't need a special lens, but they do help tremendously. You want a 1:2 ratio or better for some raunchy pics.

that board is nice, but if you want the best advice I would google photography forum and visit the few few. Those dudes are serious.

I use a Canon Rebel XT for my fly pics. . I shoot them hand held and have no ptoblems. the built in TTL flash works good close up, and also the 18-55 lens does well.

spending the money (600-1k) on DSLR and a lens... just to take pictures of flies is overkill... especially since you say that you are just starting out

Get a Digi Point and shoot with a good macro/super macro
learn the settings and what they do
learn shot composition

here is a basic explanation of how to shoot flies
http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2984

Hey cat,

come on man, I need that t2i

Ramcatt wrote:
spending the money (600-1k) on DSLR and a lens... just to take pictures of flies is overkill... especially since you say that you are just starting out

Get a Digi Point and shoot with a good macro/super macro
learn the settings and what they do