Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS


Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
Won't run on my new computer, will install but won't run the CDs, any help or ideas to try appreciated. The comp does have considerable pop-up blocking would that do it?? I have Verizon/Yahoo browser!

Posted on: 2006/10/5 8:30


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA
Moderator
Joined:
2006/9/9 19:16
From Dallastown, PA
Posts: 7015
Offline
Dick,

Probably a compatability problem with your new OS. (operating system) Win XP I presume? Anyway, it may just be that the Auto Executible files on the CD wont run automatically whne the CD is loaded.

Your InternetService Provider/Browser has nothing to do with it.

You may be able to launch the App manually. Try putting in the CD and then browse the Directory to your CD Drive. (My Computer>D or E Drive) Once the CD opens you will see the files on the CD. Change the "view" to Details, Then double click the "Type" header in the Window. This will sort the contents by type. The Applications will come to the top. Try double-clicking the Application to launch it. Failure to launch will result in an error message. From there you can further your trouble shooting.

HTH,

Maurice

Posted on: 2006/10/5 9:11
_________________
Don't hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning. Think the bridge will be there and it will be there. It's a mother, beautiful bridge, and it's gonna be there. Ok?


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/19 13:48
From Akron, Ohio
Posts: 62
Offline
I have Topo USA 4.0 and it runs fine on XP... I'm not familiar with TU Topo USA?

Like Maurice said....What kind of an error are you getting when attempting to run the program? If it ends up being a compatability problem caused by the OS i may have a solution for you.... Keep us informed.

Posted on: 2006/10/5 10:57


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
Thanks for the help guys, on a wild thought, I removed PIA Norton Anti-Virus, program works great now!! Thanks again

Posted on: 2006/10/5 15:14


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/13 12:37
Posts: 496
Offline
If your disks ran on windows 98 or a system previous to win 2k they will not work, 98 is based on 95 which never worked and the newer versions of windows are from the NT platform. It is a completely different operating system. I had the same problem and stopped using Delorme because of it.

Posted on: 2006/10/6 10:01


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA
Moderator
Joined:
2006/9/9 9:29
From Monessen, PA
Posts: 22214
Offline
Quote:

Stone_Fly wrote:
If your disks ran on windows 98 or a system previous to win 2k they will not work, 98 is based on 95 which never worked and the newer versions of windows are from the NT platform. It is a completely different operating system. I had the same problem and stopped using Delorme because of it.


Actually, Windows XP has a compatibility mode that emulates prior versions of Windows and can run the older software. Right-click the "exe" file and select "Properties." There is a tab entitled "Compatibility" that will give you the ability to emulate a prior OS.

Posted on: 2006/10/6 10:24
_________________
I don't like scrambled eggs, and I'm glad I don't, because if I liked them, I'd eat them, and I just hate them. --Hank


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
$#$@@@%%E Computer. Delorme worked fine yesterday after I uninstalled Norton, today it won't work, I reinstalled the software that went well, now it doesn't recognize the data disks that have the regional info on them, will a hammer fix it? Really appreciate the input, I guess I will try to work through some of the helpfull suggestions, however advise as to which I should try first would be great.

Posted on: 2006/10/6 13:37


Where Is The Delete Button (double post)

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
???

Posted on: 2006/10/6 13:37


Re: Where Is The Delete Button (double post)
Moderator
Joined:
2006/9/9 9:29
From Monessen, PA
Posts: 22214
Offline
LJ, "doesn't recognize the data disks" isn't very helpful to anyone trying to troubleshoot the problem. Can you launch the program from its shortcut or exe file? What happens when you try to access the data disks? Is there an error message? Does the program freeze? Etc.

Posted on: 2006/10/6 14:30
_________________
I don't like scrambled eggs, and I'm glad I don't, because if I liked them, I'd eat them, and I just hate them. --Hank


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
Another double Hey Dave you need your double post wording reinstalled. Why aren't the Pitt Panthers football games on TV I like to watch all Pa football, only saw Pitt once this year on TV

Posted on: 2006/10/6 16:48


Re: Computer Help/ Delorme TU Topo USA

Joined:
2006/9/16 10:36
Posts: 6962
Offline
I just kept beating on it and now it is working again, I went to "my computer", the drive, open, data, and now it is working OK once more. Thanks again guys, the software is neat to mess with especially the 3D feature which shows terrain in the stream areas. THANKS AGAIN. now if I can get my GPS within 30 feet of those rising lunkers in the Little J I will consider myself a techy

Posted on: 2006/10/6 16:51






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]





Site Content
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Stay Connected

twitterfeed.com facebook instagram RSS Feed

Sponsors
Polls
Do you keep a fishing journal?
Yes 52% (85)
No 47% (78)
_PL_TOTALVOTES
The poll closed at 2014/8/22 12:38
1 Comment





Copyright 2014 by PaFlyFish.com | Privacy Policy| Provided by Kile Media Group | Design by 7dana.com