Bamboo project rod?

CLSports

CLSports

I just woke up this morning and decided I want to buy an inexpensive vintage bamboo rod that needs some restoration. My question is what should I be looking for?

I am thinking I want a rod from the 70's in about an 8'-0" or 8'-6" and 4 or 5 wt. I want something that is on the cheap side (under $100) to do a little restoration project with. I have never done any rod building work before, so that is why I want to keep the price low for my 1st project. I was thinking maybe just re-wrap the guides and a new reel seat and cork if necessary. I also want something that I can not only use, but I can consider a collectible as well.

I know I will have to buy some books and do some reading up on this, but I wanted to get a good idea of what brands/models to look for on ebay to get started. Any ones more rare than others? I see a lot of South Bend on there now and I assume they were mass produced in those years.

Southbend, Horrocks-Ibottson (HI, probably spelled the full name wrong), Montague, Montgomery Wards (no joke), were just a few of what I remember being called "production rods," that is, made for high output and sales, rather than appealing only to the officiando. You should do a little reading about the era and the rods. Some of these rods were very attractive and useful items, and if made well in that particular instance (the rod in your hand) can be very pleasant rods to fish often.

In this type of rod, unless you acquire something you know is rare, don't think "restoration," but think modification and beautification. You can put on a new realseat, new wraps, new finish and importantly new guides-- unless you plan to fish silk, in which case, your budget would be blown entirely on the line, forget the rod.

Here is a link to a webseller that usually has some handyman specials available.

http://www.codella.com/shop.aspx

CL,