Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Another fly shop bites the dust...

From Pittsburgh
My point exactly Afish! And yes, fly shops sell on ebay. Perhaps a poor example. But there are now many online fly shops that don't even have a brick and mortar presence.

I have no problem with these business models. I am a technologist for a living and work with hundreds of ecommerce business's to help them grow their business.

I happen to like going and casting a rod before I buy it. I like talking with the guys at the shop about the cfs readings on the yough. I like finding out that a small crease fly stamp serves as a perfect form for a bass slider. I like sitting in on a talk on steel head techniques and learning how to tie a eugene bend knot with 25 other fly fisherman who were all eager to learn as well.

If you like those things too then you need to be willing to pay a bit more for dubbing, tippet, lead eyes, etc..... That is the deal and there is no real way around that. If you don't like these things then that is OK, just don't be shocked or disappointed when your shop closes.

Posted on: 2011/6/5 9:40

From rock glen, pa
recently my waders started leaking so I drove 45 min. to the closest fly shop to buy new ones. The place was almost empty so I asked if he was closing down, he said no. If you have no inventory how can you sell products. He had two differenty wader made by simms in three sizes. He didn't have my size he would have to order them. Why would I want him to order them when I can do that my self and have them shipped to my house and not have to drive 50 miles away? Anyway the fly shop that I go to isn't going to be around much longer if he keeps this up.
By the way he had six fly rods total from 3 manufactures.

Posted on: 2011/6/5 9:47

From Philadelphia, Pa
Quote: