Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

A few good winter flies

I am planning on fishing the West Branch Octorara in Lancaster tomorrow. I'm not asking for any close kept, hard earned secrets. But what are a few good flies to fish?

Posted on: 2011/1/29 16:35

Re: A few good winter flies

From Room 109
Griffins gnats would be in my box this time of year for sure .

Posted on: 2011/1/29 17:03

From SW PA
Trevor,
Although I have no knowledge of the stream you mention, I'll fish a wooly bugger in the Winter more often than any other time. Cold water to me ,means the fish will be lethargic. So I'll dead drift a bugger, or sometimes two, and let that maribou works its magic. Black would be my first choice, and I'd let the water conditions determine the size; Generious flow = large fly, low flow= smaller size.
lacking any midge activity to get Bruno's fly suggestion some casts, or any other obvious insect activity. I'll save myself the trouble of changing flies and just force the buggers to work.
Good Luck!
Dave

Posted on: 2011/1/30 8:52

From Greensburg, PA
Peeking caddis has always served me well in winter.

Posted on: 2011/1/30 22:38

From lancaster county
Quote:
Although I have no knowledge of the stream you mention, I'll fish a wooly bugger in the Winter more often than any other time. Cold water to me ,means the fish will be lethargic. So I'll dead drift a bugger, or sometimes two, and let that maribou works its magic.

Perfect answer

Posted on: 2011/1/31 8:11

From Altoona/Smoke Run
Listen To DaveS. That's my "go to" winter fly as well.

Some beadhead nymphs are never a bad second choice. Pheasant tails/hares ear/muskrat etc.

Posted on: 2011/1/31 9:24