Plague of Locusts Coming

greenghost

greenghost

They're coming to SW PA this year. Get out the cicada fly-tying recipes.

I ALWAYS GET EXCITED ABOUT THEM,THEN,ALWAYS MISS THEM.

I was on a wild trout stream last year when the locusts were falling in the water and giving their last wiggles. The trout were fighting over them but none could actually eat one. It was like a person trying to eat a whole ham in one bite.

Carp go crazy over cicadas.

If you have the chance, check that out.

troutbert wrote:
Carp go crazy over cicadas.

If you have the chance, check that out.

I did just that - on bald eagle creek during the last cicada emergence there - in 2008 I believe.
Huge carp were cruising around the slow pools sucking down the big bugs. And I started playing games with them. Casting my pattern close to one, and waiting while it lumbered it to it. Then jerking it away at the last second just as it was about to eat it.

Of course, I was a little slow on the draw a few times. And hooked a few of the brutes.
Didn't really want to catch them. But gotta admit that they put up a whale of a fight!

greenghost wrote:

They're coming to SW PA this year. Get out the cicada fly-tying recipes.

Exciting news.

I still have some cicada flies left over from the last time they were here in central PA. They're fun to tie.

If you're a SWPA FFer who doesn't tie your own flies, send me a PM and I'll send you some cicadas.

EDIT: My cicada flies have found new homes.

Attachments

• Cicadas3.JPG
    Cicadas3.JPG
    115 KB · Views: 4
When I was a kid, I used to do the cruising carp thing during inchworm time on the creek I grew up on, the outlet of a small natural lake. I only ever landed 2 or 3 and destroyed 2 Western Auto brand (Revelation) fly rods.

Like hooking a school bus..

any good fly tying tutorials for cicadas?

A pan fish popper will work. This doesn’t need to be difficult.

RLeep2 wrote: