BWO emergence

D

dryflyguy

I recently had a discussion with an old FF acquaintance about blue winged olives. And I mentioned that I would really like to see an overcast/rainy day. As the BWO's always seemed to hatch better in that kind of weather.
And this guy told me that the general belief that they hatch better in that kind of weather is a myth that's not true. And that they hatch just as well on bright sunny days too.
They just don't stay on the surface of the water for any length of time on sunny days - kinda just pop right off I guess. And you don't really see many of them
Conversely, during rainy or cold weather, they struggle to become airborne. And that's why you see a lot more of them on the water then.
Now this guy has been FF a lot longer than me. And I really respect his opinion.
But I had to disagree with him on this.
I've been fishing only dry flies for well over 30 years now. And when the fish aren't rising, I'm constantly looking over all sections of the stream. And if BWO's were hatching - and not riding the surface at all - I still think I would have seen them.

Now, I'm not saying that they DON'T hatch on sunny days. I have also seen them then - and had some fishing to them.
But the rainy days by far have been when I've seen the best hatching IMO.

Just wondering what the rest of yinz think about this

I have to both agree and disagree with the person you spoke with about BWO (Baetis) emergences.

Many years ago I went fishing with a friend to fish (hopefully) a Baetis hatch. It was a bright, sunny day in March and my friend commented that he may not expect much hatch activity because these flies hatch best on cloudy, overcast days.

I informed him that, while the hatch may go on for a longer period of time in overcast weather, I would expect a good hatch on this sunny day, as well.