HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Wild Water Braided vs Blue Sky Furled Leaders

From North East PA
Here's another source you can check out:

http://streamsideleaders.com/

Came across it in a thread on furled leaders. I ordered 3 from this site and received fairly quick delivery with no problems.

I like the way they feel, but I'm a newbie, so your mileage may vary.

Dave

Posted on: 2012/2/17 10:45

From down the block from the Letort.
I've been happy with the Streamside linked above. Like them better than the BlueSky I used, which was furled mono or nylon something or other. Prefer the presentation I get with the furled uni-thread Streamside.

Have also used silk leaders from Terenzio that came with the lines I have and probably like them the best, though they're a bit long for tight, barely any line out the tip brookie fishing where I think the furled leaders really shine. Reminds me that I have two new ones I need to get broken in for the new season.

With all of them I'll add a short 12"ish section of 3x or 4x then tie on the tippet from there to meet conditions. They're all great leaders for dries, but if I'm expecting to do some nymphing with a two fly rig during the day I'll usually just use a regular tapered leader and adjust tippets as needed.

Posted on: 2012/2/17 11:37

From Enola, PA
Quote:

bam wrote:
Try to avoid thingamabobbers on them. They can kink your leader. The toothpick kind work well and stay in place. Putty works as a sighter if you're not looking to float nymphs

I have never had any problems with thingamabobbers kinking my furled leaders. I use both UNI thread leaders and fluoro leaders.

Posted on: 2012/2/17 12:42

uhh...nevermind

From Bozeman
Quote:

bam wrote:
Try to avoid thingamabobbers on them. They can kink your leader. The toothpick kind work well and stay in place. Putty works as a sighter if you're not looking to float nymphs