What do you use for a tape measure?

salmonoid

salmonoid

My fishing tape measure finally bit the dust about two weeks ago. I had been using an old Ace Hardware retractable freebie for about ten years, but it finally rusted out and the tape blade broke. Prior to that, I was using an identical Ace Hardware retractable freebie, which also broke (but I had picked up two of them when I was a teen, which is how I managed to make them last twenty years).

So what do you use? I'm looking for something small (inch diameter or so), and it only needs to be three feet or so in length (biggest fish I have ever caught is a 30" steelhead). I'd prefer a built in zinger or carabiner (something like this SilverStone FlyFishing offering from China, which looks strikingly similar to an Orvis label offering. A non-metal tape would be nice, to avoid the rusting, and the handful of times that I've metal-tape cut my fingers.

I haven't made a trip to Home Depot or Lowes or the local hardware store yet (or Cabelas), to see what trinkets they might offer, but figured I'd poll the collective wisdom of the Internet to see what others use.

I was in Home Depot the other day and there was a bin at the end of the aisle with trinkets for $2.97. One was a 24" syringe style "grabber" and telescoping magnet. The other was a smallish tape measure, I think it went up to ten ft. maybe it was 3ft. Not sure but I thought when I saw it, would make a nice vest dangler.

I no longer use any measuring device for fishing. I can tell with a glance a 6", 8", 10", 12", 14" and 16" fish. I have not caught enough fish larger than that to instantly tell its size but it no longer matters to me.

You could put tape or some other marking on your rod to use as a measuring device.

most of my rod builds have a signature wrap about inches from the end of the rod, gives me some type of idea how big a fish might be. but honestly, I really don't care, I usually just release em and get back to fishing.