Trend in waders...advice?

M

mgh-pa

I know the subject of what waders to buy has been beaten to death (I did search and read lot, hence the reason behind this posting). I'm in the marker for breathable chest waders. I'm still fairly new at this sport, and I'm still using Cabelas neoprene waist heist waders for even late spring/summer fishing (can you say sweaty?). I'm still very new to the sport, and I will admit I'm still not fishing with extreme regularity (I may get out a few times in a month during the spring). Now, that may change depending on a lot of things, but it has be a little hesitant in dropping serious $$ into something like Simms G3's (which seems to come highly recommended by quite a few of you).

I feel that just a year or two ago when I joined this site and was reading about waders, a lot of members suggested not spending a ton on them, since they all seem to wear out, and leak within a year to three of hard use. However, since that time, research on here, has shown that a lot of you are suggesting higher end waders due to the fact that you get what you pay for (obviously).

My question for you is this. If I have Cabelas bucks I want to use (so I prefer purchasing from them), but I'm still unsure how much I'll be hitting the water this year, do I go for the top of the line? If I don't, what kind of life can I expect out of the Cabelas line?

I won't say money isn't a factor, it is. However, I'm willing to spend what I need to if it means doing it right (or right in the eyes of those giving advice in this thread). Thanks for any input you may be able to provide.

I have Cabela's Dry-Plus breathables. Cost me $119 and I'm on my 3rd year with them and I fish at least once a week and sometimes more. Yes, I've had to patch them a few times but nothing outrageous and they are comfortable. Just my 2 cents.

Foxgap239 wrote:
I've had to patch them a few times but nothing outrageous

Does outrageous involve a paint roller? ;-)

Heritage-Angler wrote: