Stream thermometer

W

wangdb

I'm looking for a reliable stream thermometer. My cheapo Orvis failed in a month. I'm wondering if you have any recommendations? I'm thinking about using my IR thermometer.

They all have their good & bad points but I have been using the Fishpond Swift Current Thermometer for several years now.

It is accurate (enough) and small although a bit overpriced.

The other thing I like is the housing is made of aluminum instead of brass. Brass is too heavy and lands like a rock on the rocks if you tether on a long cord like I do. That clunk can break the thermometer.

The lighter Fish Pond Swift Current doesn't do that although it also won't go down as deep in "swift current" as heavier brass because it's lighter.

Bad name choice I guess...

Yo wan - I've gone through a lot of stream thermometers over the years. I do not like any kind of liquid filled thermometers because they tend to break if I leave them in a hot car during the summer. So now I get a cheap meat type dial thermometer from Harbor Freight or the Dollar Store for $5 or less. They need to be calibrated, and have a sharp point, but very durable compared to the liquid or battery powered devices.

https://m.grainger.com/mobile/product/3LRL2?cm_mmc=PPC:+Google+PLA&s_kwcid=AL!2966!3!50916749277!!!g!82166498037!&ef_id=WHQnIQAABPOoWQf5:20180908233758:s

This

Adhesive Strip Liquid Crystal Stick On Thermometer
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MUGNGVW/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1