Split shot advice?

FlyMaster99

FlyMaster99

I'm somewhat new to flyfishing and just need some advice on what split shot sizes I should get. If u guys can help me out I'll really appreciate it!

FlyMaster99 wrote:
I'm somewhat new to flyfishing and just need some advice on what split shot sizes I should get. If u guys can help me out I'll really appreciate it!

I like lead ss and also ones with the little ears to make them easy to remove. Try these in size "B" & "BB". Any Dick's Sporting Goods carry them. Good luck.

I prefer smaller shot like 4 and 6.

I picked up a shot wheel ten years ago with all he smaller sizes and still use it.

However, I must admit I don't like adding shot. I prefer tying my own flies with weight added to them.

I myself like the none lead putty loon has. Work's and when i make a bad cast, it wont chip the rod. Who me make a bad cast?

I agree with Afish. Though I carry "fly fishing shot" the vast majority of my splitshot usage is "removable" (I use the term loosely because the new crap is not removable even though it has "ears". They just smash. But that's another rant.) Water Gremlin "B or BB".

FlyMaster99 wrote:

None. Buy a little container of the tungsten putty. Unless its freezing outside, because it'll freeze and crack off. In that case just stay home. It was entirely too cold to be outside anyways.

Lead SS in B or BB like Afish said or if you prefer the leadfree approach I like the dinsmore mixed container of shot. They grab the tippet good and wont slide on you but are not as easy to remove as lead split shot with the tails.

Tungsten Putty is the ticket for replacing micro shot, when you need just a little more weight. It works best if you roll it on your tippet like spaghetti rather than shaping it on to look like a football.

Your best bet will be to purchase a 'wheel' of split shot. you'll use shot from 8-BB+ based on the depth and speed of the water.

I would also recommend not using lead since it pollutes the waterways.