Rod for Enormous Brook Trout

• Thread starter BrookTroutLover
  • Start date
BrookTroutLover

BrookTroutLover

I am heading way north in a couple of weeks for the Nirvana of Brook Trout. Skating mouse patterns and shipping big buggers for 2-8lbers. Being a Pennsylvanian with small stream habits, my trout rods are 3-5 wt. I am looking at adding at a 6-wt, but unsure about 9' or 9'6." The river is big and wide, so I leaning toward the longer stick-- thinking it might also work well on larger water in PA like Penn's, etc.

Any wisdom from this crew would be most appreciated.

Scott in Chester Co.

I have no experience with large brook trout, but I often use a 5-6wt 8 ft for steelhead. It's actually my all purpose rod that normally I use for backup for steelhead, But I promoted it to starting position until I fix my 7wt 9 ft bamboo.

For steelhead you are using weighted flies, and for that I prefer more of a full flex (moderate to even slow action).

But you are going to be throwing mouse patterns which tend to have more wind resistance. You want something with some backbone. For that I'd want longer and stiffer (moderate to faster action) rod.

If I were in the market for a new plastic rod specifically for this purpose, I'd go with a 6-7wt in at least 9 foot, if not 10.

BrookTroutLover wrote:
I am heading way north in a couple of weeks for the Nirvana of Brook Trout. Skating mouse patterns and shipping big buggers for 2-8lbers. Being a Pennsylvanian with small stream habits, my trout rods are 3-5 wt. I am looking at adding at a 6-wt, but unsure about 9' or 9'6." The river is big and wide, so I leaning toward the longer stick-- thinking it might also work well on larger water in PA like Penn's, etc.

Any wisdom from this crew would be most appreciated.

Scott in Chester Co.

Hey BTL,

Good luck with those brute brookies!

I like longer rods, especially for larger rivers and streams.