Recommendation on a New Outfit

K

kinger26

Hi, I'm new to both your forum and to NE PA fishing! I'm really looking forward to fishing the small brookie streams and I'd like to get a outfit for it. I've currently got a Sage XP 9'5wt and a Sage VT2 9'4wt. I'm thinking of something in the 6.6 to 7.6' range in a 3wt. I'd like to spend no more than $500 on both rod and reel. What rod/reel combo would you put together if you were to do so today?

Thanks!

St crix avid and echo carbon seem to be very popular.rods at a modest price point. I believe they both make 2 &3 weights in the 7-7 1/2 foot range. A nice old hardy flyweight would make a sweet little set up. Are you open to a used rod? You might find and old sage LL series for cheap.

Sage VT2 9'4wt.

learn to use this. wish it was 8' for "tiny brook trout omg, omg, omg" however under 4wt you are generally under gunned. again, your Sage VT2 9'4wt is fine.

Kinger, check your PM's

Well, as jdaddy says, it'll work. It's a little long to be ideal, but it'll work. If you were only going to do the brookie thing on occasion, I'd agree with him.

If you're going to be doing it alot, it makes sense to get a specialized tool for the job. Personally, I do like heavier weight lines, a 7'6" 5 wt would be perfect but can be hard to find. Many who think like me end up with 4 wts, and overline em a bit. Others like 2 and 3 wts.

I've only heard good things about the echo carbon, but never tried one. I use a Cortland GRX, 7'6" 4/5 wt, and love that, but I don't think they make it anymore. Pretty much everyone makes 3 and 4 wts in the 7-8' range, so it really depends on what you're looking for in action. I like hand cannons, and going that route, St. Croix Imperials are very nice rods, they make a 7' 3 wt and a 7'6" 4 wt and either would run you a touch over $200.