Old rod and reel

laurelrun

laurelrun

I rescued an old rod and reel from my father in law's garage. The reel is a Pfleuger Medalist 1494 which has a lot of wear. And the rod is an eagle claw featherweight 7' 6wt.

The two piece rod is totally frozen. I was afraid to damage it and would love advice on getting it apart.

As for the reel, should I disassemble it to really clean it well? I tore the very old line off it. Any suggestions on what to load it with?

I am guessing this was a very basic setup from the 60s or 70s. So I am not expecting it to be high end performance wise. But being a newbie, I figure an extra rod would be good and this is much shorter than my 5 wt 9' setup.

Good news, both your rod and reel are classics. Both were (and still are) widely used and actively collected by folks who appreciate vintage tackle.

If you are interested, here is some info on your reel -

Medalist Reel

Here's a pretty good write up on how to get stuck rods apart. It helps if you can find another person to help you -

Stuck rod ferrules

have fun,

Kroil is the best penetrating oil around. I know people that rebuild commercial jet engines and they turned me on to it. It not only penetrates microscopically, it also breaks down corrosion that binds stuff together.

http://www.kanolabs.com/

It was once hard to find, not any more .... spray some in the connection & store awhile so it will seep in ..... try to pull apart .... repeat. Don't twist.

New Ferrules are available, let me know if you need links.

Update on the rod. Penetrating oil did the trick. I used PB blaster mainly because I had it. Thanks all for links and help! Now to work on the reel.

Sounds like a great set up. I just hooked my daughter up with the same rod with a Martin 65 and a Cortland 444 WF6. It loads easily and the grip is not overly large for her 6 year old hands.

Code:
and a Cortland 444 WF6. It loads easily and

+1 ..... a decent place to start for that rod.