Ok, finally looking for wading boots

pcray1231

pcray1231

Probably gonna keep the felts, and pick up a pair of rubber soled ones in addition. Lookin for recommendations.

Requirements are that the new pair must stay below $100, preferably less than $70 or $80. Most interested in how "sticky" the sole is on large, rounded boulders.

Pcray,

I've been using the rubber sole wading boots since 2003, mainly Simms boots. My first pair was a studded, Aqua Stealth pair. I had no problems with wading in slick water conditions and under the conditions you described. As I fish in the winter, the rubber soles are much easier to walk in snow than felt.

I now have two pair of studded Simms Rivershed boots and love them.

I think you may find rubber sole boots in your price range from Cabelas.

Dale

Hey Pc,

LL Bean is having a sale on hunting and fishing stuff. Their studded River Treads are reduced from $149 to $99, size 11 and up. I wear a 9-1/2 shoe but size 11 in wadding boots. Here's the link:

LL Bean River Treads Studded

Well, I've used the cheapo boot foot hippers before, which have rubber soles, and I find them downright deadly on rock. But admittedly the tread pattern is likely nowhere near what a decent boot will give you.

Unless there's a super special or something, Simms is out of my price range. Just not willing to spend that kinda dough on boots. I've heard negative reports on a few of the cheaper rubber soles, I was hoping to hear a few positive reviews on something.

Cabela's ultralight lug sole, Frog Togg Anura rubber soles, Pro Line Nitro, Field & Stream Pro rubber with cleats, etc. Something along those lines.

Thanks RC. Never had any Bean stuff or even been to a Bean store, but those are in consideration.

RC - Thanks for the tip on those River Treads studded boots.