Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

I'm new to this

What do you guys think of my combo? I am new to fly fishing, and was convinced by friends to try,so I watched E-Bay and got a Cortland Silver Stream 8 and1/2ft 5/6 wt rod, with Fair play 6F line,backing and(given by a friend) an Argus Flite III 5/6 wt. reel. Will this work for a beginner? I have a grand total of 33 bucks invested.

Posted on: 2007/4/29 0:42

Re: I'm new to this

Not too shabby, sounds like you just need to add water.

Take some lessons from friends, read some books and go get them.

Best advice I can give you as a beginner: Catch and Release.

Posted on: 2007/4/29 1:02

From Altoona, PA
Every time I cast a Cortland rod, I am impressed with how nice they are. Good luck! As you have questions, come back and we'll see what we can do to help out.

Posted on: 2007/4/29 8:29

From Gettysburg
sureshot,
The combo you've aquired is perfect at this point. If it turns out you don't care for FF you have not lost a lot of bucks. I agree that when you first start it's a good idea to fish with someone experienced as they'll help you overcome the inevitable tangles and such that discourage new FFers. If you are already a fisherman who knows he likes fishing and has some experience with conventional tackle it's almost a sure bet you'll like FF. If however you are completely new to fishing don't feel like you have to master FF - there's nothing wrong with conventional fishing and it is usually easier to catch fish.

Posted on: 2007/4/29 8:52

From Southeast PA