Fad rods Tenkara Switch and Glass .

Fredrick

Fredrick

Are these rods a fad or are they here to stay ?

I have to honestly say that I bought a switch rod fad, to fish the surf in Jersey but once I bought a NRX my switch rod started to collect dust as I could get the same distance from my 9' NRX . And in windy conditions the switch rod was harder to control since the it was longer and more wind resistant it was chore to just hold it straight .

redietz wrote:
I've been fishing glass for 55 years. Hardly a fad.

I know but with the rise in popularity of them lately more companies are coming out with glass rods is this a fad or will it be the norm.

Tenkara was definitely embraced by the hipster community and, despite trying to give it some ancient Asian roots, a total fad. An impractical one at that. You knew it was getting ridiculous when they were selling twist ties to put on your pole to "hold the line"...

Glass almost got to that level too, but seems to have leveled off a bit. The thing that sucked about the glass boom is that the price on old rods went skyrocketing. Some of the new glass is pretty sweet, and the prices are hard to beat (Cabelas, for example). But then you had ridiculous rods w/ super high prices, "fast action" glass (what's the point? Just use graphite), etc. I imagine some of that will go away, some of it will stay as a niche market, and things like the Cabelas Prime/CGR may hang around.

Don't know anything about the Switch rod.

Lol. I never had a switch rod, I am not a fan of the idea at all. I bought a 2 handed rod, and like you it collects dust because I can cast a 9' rod pretty much as far. When someone asks me about a switch rod my first comment is usually practice casting. Been quite a while since I've been to the salmon river but watching guys chucking lead and bobbers with a switch rod made me go nuts. Learn to fish and cast properly and you dont need one.

Fads?
I'd say "yes," to a degree.