Estimated Fenwick Price

Tucker733

Tucker733

My uncle recently ended up with a Fenwick rod and was wondering what the value for the rod my be. The rod I had the sock and tube and honestly look as if it never been fished or had a reel in the seat. The numbers are FF79 8ft 3 1/2 oz. H 74899. I don't think the rod could be in any better shape and was just looking for a ballpark price range for him. Thanks

Check Ebay and see what is listed for similar rods to see what people are asking.

Then be sure to also click on the "sold" button to see what similar rods actually sold for. That is probably the best way to estimate value.

Can you post pictures?

Ten yrs ago I sold a Fenwick fiberglass 7' 5wt (FF705) for $100. The rod was purchased for about $90 in 1990. It was in very good condition.

I'm not an expert on rods but usually there are 3 numbers after "FF" so you could be missing a number.

Can you post pics? If so, and if no one here can help you, there is a fiberglass rod forum you should check out.

While many Fenwick rods had 3-digit model numbers, the FF79 is from Fenwick's 1st generation of "feralite" (glass ferrule) rods from the mid-60s thru 1971. It's an 8' rod rated for #5/6 lines. Some owners on the glass forum state its best as a dry fly rod. While it's hard to say what the real value is without putting it on the market, I'd guess someone would pay in the range of $200 for an exceptional FF79 with original sock & case in equally fine condition.