Cheap but good chest wader recommendations?

R

Rexmobile

Hello all - I'm new to fly fishing and so far I love it dearly! I have most tackle, but no waders yet. Can anyone recommend some fairly inexpensive waders that I can purchase quickly (retail store) that might serve me for a few seasons?

Many thanks!!

You know the old saying...you can have it good or you can have it cheap or you can have it fast...anyway...

My first pair was a pair of Proline, neoprene chest waders. 50 bucks...lasted me 10 years...replaced them with Cabelas breathables for 100 bucks. Look in Walmart or Dicks for Hodgeman's waders. You should have your pic of breathable or neoprene...should be less then 75 bucks at the Mart..less than 90 at Dick's.

But be aware that neoprene's will be really hot in warm weather. I would recommend breathables.

A pair of Cabela's breathables should get you a few seasons if you take care of them, IE wash them and hang them in a cool dry place.

I spent like $115 on one of their better models with soft, stretchy shoulder straps and built in gravel guards and have no complaints at all. Though I've found that since I lost 100 lbs that all waders seem to feel more comfortably :p

You can get one of the cheaper breathables from cabela's for 70 or 80 bucks and they will do you just fine IMO.

Another vote for the breathables. Any extra money is well spent for this feature. I'm into my second season with Hodgman Wadelite breathable chest waders.

I'd go with stocking foot and purchase a pair of wading boots seperately, but you could save some money by going with the boot-foot. Check out this thread for a discussion of wading boots Boot Thread

Albatross is right about stocking foot ones. Get a $35 or so pair of felt bottom boots while you're at cabela's. I have two pair of them.... One with studs, one without. I, again, have no complaints.