Canoe

W

wsender

I want to get a canoe for fly fishing lakes and float trips. But had some questions (Where has Jake been, haven't seen him around in a bit). Mostly, what should I look for in a canoe. I have no real knowledge about them so I'm not quite sure what to get.

Is there a canoe that would do well in still water and moving water, or are we talking about two different beasts here? Is it even practical to have these on float trips on places like the D or am I flirting with disaster potentially?

Any info would be great. I found a 15 foot Coleman on craigslist for about 200 and that seems to be as good of a deal as any that I've seen and I'm trying to figure out weather or not to pick it up.

I have owned canoes and kayaks.
The latter is less likely to dump you in the drink-I canoed the Madison,Yellowstone,Missouri in Montana but only to get into out of the way places to fish or hunt.
I think kayaks have pretty much replaced canoes-you are lower [closer] to the water so more stable.
Go to a shop that sells both and talk to the people.Avoid the toys they sell at many places-if it looks too good to be true price wise be leery.

I haven't been in either, but plan on canoeing either the Juniata R or the Main Stem of the Delaware for a few days. I figure I'll be mainly using spinning gear out of the boat and fly when we stop. The canoe is an old town so I'll let you know how it is. He uses it on lakes and even uses a trolling motor...

It's amazing that I've rowed drift boats and pontoons quite a few times, but have yet to row a canoe or yak...

Dear wsender,

You need to pay attention to your local canoe and kayak outfitters to see if and when they offer a "Demo" day and then get out and try some boats. They aren't exactly right around the corner from you, but Oak Orchard Canoe is within a couple hours of Skaneateles, and they are one of the largest canoe and kayak outfitters in the NE.