Albright's

B

blue4good

I've been fishing around the Gear Talk forum and have found no thread specifically about Albright rods and reels. If I missed it, please forgive me and point me in the correct direction.

Otherwise, what is your honest opinion? I just ordered the A-5 paired w/ the GPX for light duty and a GP paired with a Topwater rod for Steelhead and other heavy fish. I'm guessing the Topwater rod will fall short but I'm a novice w/ virtually no experience in FFing, so I supposed the latter rig will suffice, all things considered (including the economy).

I ask this question because I'll have 10 days to return, once they are received - had to make a quick decision because the stock was going fast, due to a huge sale.

All criticism, advice and other options are welcome.

Thanks,

blue4good

http://www.paflyfish.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=5589&forum=3

Regarding the quality of the Albright's gear. I have recieved the Bugati 7/8 weight reel and the Bridgestone waders and I do not have one complaint for the price. As a beginner, and some might disagree with me, steelhead fishing in Erie is not a big casting game. For the most part, you will be high stick nymphing or throwing egg patterns under an indicator in the deeper holes. This may require a 30 foot cast at most. I think that a nine foot or longer rod offers the major advantage of line control and it allows you to present drag free drifts in circumstances where a shorter rod would limit your ability. As to the quality of rod, I started with a nine foot shakespeare fiberglass telephone pole that I would never use on a wild trout stream, but that rod served all the purposes needed for erie steelhead. I am pretty sure that the albright topwater series is higher quality than that. With all that said, I think you made a good choice and I hope you have some good luck once you make it out on the tribs.