7/8 weight reel??

ryguyfi

ryguyfi

I'm fairly new to fly fishing and want to expand my arsenal. I'm looking for a nice 7/8 weight for some heavier fish... pike, walleye, steelhead, etc. I'd prefer something from cabella's only because I have some gift certificates from there and I'm poor. I'd like to spend maybe 150 max but any suggestions are welcome. I'd like a drag system that can tuned to next to nothing at times. Besides that i'm open to just about anything. Thanks!

take a look at the Cabela's LSR. Nice reels, fully macined aluminum, light weight and good drag.

The Tioga Reel is a nice choice. I'm not sure why you want to dial down the drag to "next to nothing" but if you do, you might like the big knob Tioga uses for the drag adjustment. One of those big fish taking off on a light drag, and you'll want to be able to dial down in a hurry.

I use a Tioga for bass fishing and I've had nothing but good experiences with it, but smallmouth are not known for long blistering runs.

Dear ryguyfi,

My vote goes to the Scientific Anglers System 2-L model 78 reel. It will hold a WF8 line and 120 yards of backing and the reel is bullet-proof. They run $ 129.95 but you can occasionally find them on sale for less.

Edited to say that Cabela's carries this reel, the price is from their new 2007 Fly Fishing catalog.

Regards,
Tim Murphy :)

Thanks for all the input so soon. Doing a little bit of looking it seems like my eyes are bigger than my wallet. But who's isnt. Just a few questions about reels. What are the advantages/dis of different drag systems. From my original post I guess I meant a wider range of drag settings rather than fine tune to nothing. I've heard complaints from other fishermen of their drags not being able to be tuned for many situations. And i see that on most larger reels they are large or extra large arbor. Is this just strictly for holding more line and backing or are there other reasons for this.