5wt to 3wt

R

redhotchilipepper

Hi, I've been using a 5wt for a few years now and considering something lighter for small streams like a 3wt. Since I've never casted one what can I expect?

Tim

It'll be lighter in your hand, wind will have more effect on it, it'll have trouble turning over bigger flies and tippets, and it might have a more delicate presentation.

I'd go cast a few before buying.

To feel very light...but seriously you may feel more in control. It will just take a few minutes to get used to and then your 5wt will feel like a log for a few minutes until you get used to that again...the length might be more of a change than the weight...hit a shop that'll let you test cast some...

I agree with Jay. I've actually found a lighter rod to be an impediment when trying to punch a line into the tighter places so common on smaller streams. At least this has been true for me with rods in the shorter class that are usually used on small waters.

I'd give it some thought based on how open the places you fish are..

I'm not sure where you read he called it an "impediment". I don't encounter a lot of wind in tight close in streams. I even find that sometimes (kind of depends on which direction its blowing, with me, against me, across me) the smaller diameter of the line cuts the wind better than a heavier thicker line. I think JackM has a 9ft 3wt.
I think whats important is what everyone agreed on and that is to cast some...more than one. I had (2) 7ft 3wts for some time. One was very soft and delicate and the other was really fast and took only a flick to cast it. They will feel very different.