how many do you tie

F

flytyingfred

I am wondering how you go about your fly tying when you have a saturday at your bench after all the chores are done? Do you tie one pattern and if so how many of that pattern? do you just tie what comes into your head or just the ones you like to tie? Just wondering so I can start getting a strategy going when I go over to my bench. I sometimes tie one of each pattern when I am there and its not very productive. I dont know if I can sit and tie say two dozen soft hackles without changing. I will try if it is a better way to learn since I am fairly new at this and also I would think it more productive. responses appreciated Fred

I find myself only tying when I have to lately. This means that I'll sit down to tie no more than a dozen or so flies the night before a trip.

When I had time to tie for enjoyment, I'd usually do maybe 20 in a session before my eyes got tired.

I usually tied what I'd be fishing next. Usually some pheasant tails (terrestrials in the summer) and a few adults of whatever's hatching next.

It's best to tie all of what you need of a certain pattern at one time. For me, that's usually at least a dozen of whatever at a session.
I usually get on a roll afer the first fly or 2, and start really cranking them out. I think that's a lot better than jumping around tying a few of this and a few of that

Yeah, I get going on one pattern and crank em out. My crank is slow though, it takes me entirely too long. My first one or two are always pretty poor but once I get the hang of a pattern I'm alright....

I usually go in with good intentions, but end up tying about 2 of whatever I wanted to do. Then I move to something else.

My back gives out on me after about a dozen (which sucks because I'm not very old).

The longer I sit at my desk the more crappy patterns I come up with.

I am like Jay because I usually tie for what I need next (and prbably should have had more of the day before).