egg patterns

ryguyfi

ryguyfi

Ok I've been tying for about 2 years now and just have a question about egg patterns. I tie a lot of them for trout and steelhead with good success. Most of the ones I find in the stores are different than mine. The egg itself is about a third of the size of the hook. I would rather use a smaller hook so that the edge of the egg is right at the bottom of the hook bend. my egg's aren't as tight as the store/fly shop bought ones, but the fish don't seem to care. I just feel that the less hook being seen, the better. The same size egg on a store/fly shop pattern on a size 10 hook, I'll tie on a size 14 or 16. Anyone else have some views on this?

p.s. had great success with a pale yellow egg with a salmon colored blood dot for steelies last year. Just an FYI.

The biggest problem with that is the hook gap. The egg can't be too big that it closes the gap at all, or the hooking percentage will go down.

that's the main reason I asked the question. Like I said before, I tie mine not as tight as the ones I've seen so I don't seem to see a difference in my hooking percentage, but that might just be my nievity. If I have a little worse hooking percentage but get more takes due to less hook exposure to the fish, I think I'll take that trade off. Not sure if that's the case or not though.

I try to use bigger hooks, but sometimes I'll tie the egg so that there's a groove on the bottom for the hook to sit in when using a smaller one. You can accomplish this by working the globug yarn to the top of the hook after tying, and massaging it back into position every ten or fifteen casts.

Try to offset the hook a few degrees to the side too. It'll widen the gap on a smaller hook.