Your own creations?

S

somersetian

I am a complete beginner when it comes to tying but I just tied 2 streamers that were all from my own imagination. It seemed more enjoyable for me than tying to instructions or a video. Then again I am not experienced enough to tie anything from memory. I was wondering how many more experienced tiers just wing it?

Somersetian,

Essentially all my patterns that I use are adaptations of existing patterns that you cannot find commercially and they catch fish. I have a few successful patterns I created myself. If I see a pattern that lists materials that I don't have, I will experiment with materials I do have until I'm comfortable with shape, size and color.

I will then tie a few of these patterns in different size and fish them. Not every pattern works. Two of my more successful patterns that I use year round are CDC BWO soft hackles and glass bead midge pupas. I vary size and color depending upon the time of year and streams that I fish.

There's another thread that discusses tying vs. buying flies. Again the reason I tie is that my patterns are successful and cannot be found commercially and I can adapt and create new patterns.

Get creative, go fish them and see what works for you.

Dale

I love making my own flies. I have a few that I designed and have caught some good fish with. Its all about experimenting with them. You could design a fly that for example uses green dubbing for the thorax and have no luck with it, but if you tie another one with say orange dubbing, you could catch tons.

IMO
you need some foundation to start with
"creating/winging it/experimenting/breaking the rules" are all great, but you need a basic foundation to start with. you need to know the rules if you want to break them

widely accepted patterns are time tested and the materials "work"... and this is esp true and important in streamers

Find a few flies you like
tie them close to pattern
fish them and see how the materials work