Tying Beginner

fly_flinger

fly_flinger

I'm interested in trying the tying thing again. I took classes almost 15 years ago now and only tied for a few months after the classes ended. I quickly lost interest because I didn't really fly fish that much then. Well, I do now and it's getting to be an expensive habit and I figured I could help that by tying my own flies. I'm going to ask Santa for a vise this year but don't know what to tell her. So, what advise can you guys give me when looking for a good vise that will not cost a fortune? Probably something between $100 and $200.

Thanks.

Fly Flinger,

I’ve been using a Renzetti Traveler vise for quite a few years now. I’ve tied thousands of flies with it, and I plan to tie thousands more. I have a Regal vise in my traveling fly tying kit. Regal is a great vise, but I find the rotary feature on the Renzetti indispensable. The Renzetti is in the middle of your price range at about $150- $160 I believe. Have fun tying!

try the anvil, at just 100.00 its a great deal...comes with both pedastal and c-clamp plus its a rotary, though not true like the renzetti...the head is adjustable too. I recommond them to all my students for their first one...

afishinado wrote:
Fly Flinger,

I’ve been using a Renzetti Traveler vise for quite a few years now. I’ve tied thousands of flies with it, and I plan to tie thousands more. I have a Regal vise in my traveling fly tying kit. Regal is a great vise, but I find the rotary feature on the Renzetti indispensable. The Renzetti is in the middle of your price range at about $150- $160 I believe. Have fun tying!

I've been using one for about 7 or 8 yrs now. I love it. It's holding up well and I can tie on 2/0 hooks to sizes smaller than I would actually fish. So I've got everything I tie for smallmouth and trout covered.

Have fun fly tying. It's a great hobby, and although you will find it very convienient to be able to replenish your favorites without running to the flyshop.