Royal Wulff

Tigereye

Tigereye

One of my favorite searching patterns on a number of waters is the classic R Wulff. I typically tie it in size 12 and 14 and never really had reason to go smaller or larger.

My problem is that after fishing one for a bit or after catching a fish or 2 the fly swamps out on me and has difficulty staying afloat. I usually just clip it off and tie on another giving the used fly ample time to dry for another time. This is annoying.

I am ready to tie a batch up for this year and thought I'd reach out to you experts for advice. I am by no means a novice tyer as I have been tying for 20+ years. But this fly always stumped me.
I use calf tail wings, deer hair tail, a few wraps of peacock for the butt. , floss body , and a few wraps of peacock for thorax, finishing with 3-4 wraps of stiff hackle. I am paying attention to proportion and as always take care to avoid excess wrapping or making the fly bulky.

How do you suggest getting more "floatability" in your Wulff patterns? Any tricks you'd like to share? Your suggestions are welcome.

What kinda of floatant are you using?
I use a home made concoction of lighter fluid and mucilin paste. I keep it in a bottle on my vest, and dunk the whole fly in it before fishing. This coats every part of the fly quite well.
There are also several commercially prepared floatants on the market that work the same way.

That said, peacock herl does not float very well. Besides that, royal wulffs are a PIA to tie. And I don't even bother with them any more.
There are much simpler, more durable searching patterns out there - that work just fine, IMO.

I tied some modified lime trudes that have a similar body construction as the RWulff. I used a small bit of lime colored razor foam to replace the floss mid-body for a recent trip out west. The thought was I wanted something that would perform in the heavier water out there.