Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: How Long?

From Berks County
Thanks for everyones replies. I guess I have a ways to go. I am enjoying the process. I am happy about one thing. The trout really like my hares ears. I think I am doing pretty good since I am just learning from an Orvis book. I have taught myself to fly fish (with help on this board) and now I am teaching myself to tie. I am just having fun. Thanks everyone!

Troy

Posted on: 2007/4/20 9:36

From Southeast PA
Quote:

Maurice wrote:
Pay extra careful attention to your proportions and don't crowd the eye. A typical tyer can generate a fly in a few minutes and then fumble around the eye for several more. (thats another fly you could have tied) This is my biggest problem.
Maurice

AMEN to that! Nice to see that I'm not the only one who has that problem. It often causes me to end up mumbling all kinds of nasty things at myself.

I don't think I ever saw a subject on this board before where there was so much agreement! Isn't somebody going to say that if you don't tie a fly a minute you're not worth your salt as a flyfisherman?

Posted on: 2007/4/20 9:54

Quote:

Festus wrote:
Another is to make yourself one of these devices from a paper clip and an Exacto knife. I measure out all of my nymph wingcases and wings using this tool. Saves a bunch of time when working with goose or mallard wing quills and ensures uniformity on every fly.

That's a great idea! I have been using a draftsman's compass from my Jr. High School, er Middle School days with a divider point in each hole for eons.

It is very adjustable but your gizmo is a lot more compact.

Posted on: 2007/4/20 10:39

From Harrisburg
Dear Wulff-Man,