Go to/attractor nymphs

guppieguy

guppieguy

I know this has probably been discussed a lot so just shut me up if I'm beating a dead horse here.....

What are some of your favorite go-to nymphs? I'm new to tying and looking to fill a box with proven nymph patterns. So far I have the GRHR, PT, Stonefly, prince nymph, copper John. I need one more fly to fill up my box of "attractor" nymphs. Any suggestions? I'll have another box for midges/larvae/etc.

Green Weenie, Zug Bug, San Juan Worm,Walt's Worm

I second the Walt's Worm. On a lot of streams around my area I usually tie one on first thing. There's not many times it doesn't produce. Another plus is that there's endless variations for it. Whatever your mind can think up.

Hey Mario66,

I have a t-shirt that has your quote on it. I love that shirt. haha.

Did you know that back in the 1700's everyone drank beer in Philly, even kids because the water was so polluted it made everyone sick.

Carry on....

I do remember reading that somewhere, I also read the quote may have been about wine and people substituted beer, so who knows. I couldn't imagine how dirty the Schuylkill and Delaware were back then.

My go to is a mink beadhead size 14, unless there is something specific going on I tie it on first.

I would add a Walt's worm or a Triple threat nymph.

what exactly is the walts worm imitating? or does it just look tasty? im intrigued

Pheasant tail dropper with copperjohn point.

I have luck with my "stockie killer" Larva lace prince nymph.

I can pm you a recipe if you would like on that fly as well. Pretty easy to tie and deadly on fresh stocked fish.

what exactly is the walts worm imitating? or does it just look tasty? im intrigued

It's suppose to be a crane fly larvae, but it also looks fairly generic, IMO. But it's tied in the round, which I think is the most important aspect of it.