Deer/Elk Hair Wings

M

mhmcintyre

I'm new to this forum and am excited to learn from others.

Do any of you know of any videos on the web for tying hair wings such as the Elk Hair Caddis? This is one aspect of tying that I just can't seem to get right.

Thanks,

Mark

First of all welcome to the board!

this is a great place for reference for all aspects of fly fishing; tying, techniques, places to fish, general questions etc.
Feel free to keep the questions coming, there are plenty of experienced fishermen on this site to help you out.

When it comes to tying I am still not an expert but do ok. The first thing you need to do is put the hair in a stacker so the ends are even. Your fly looks cleaner and will be easier to tie. The most important part of this tie is the tension on the thread. To get a good spread on the hair you need a good amount of tension. I usually put a few thread wraps over the hair and get tighter with each wrap. You will get a good flair with the hair and then trim off the butt ends to get the desired look for the head. Keep trying and you'll get it.

here's a decent video from youtube to help out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_ZyaEoc3HU

youtube has everything. I look at a lot of videos there for tying.

mhmcintyre wrote:
I'm new to this forum and am excited to learn from others.

Do any of you know of any videos on the web for tying hair wings such as the Elk Hair Caddis? This is one aspect of tying that I just can't seem to get right.

Thanks,

Mark