Cost of tying vs. buying flies

J

jsmith697

I was wondering the cost effectiveness of tying flies vs. buying them. I'm relatively new to fly fishing, but I've tied some flies and bought a lot more.

Flies can be bought for about $.89 each on flyshack where as the material to make the flies usually comes out to about $10 to $20 depending on what flies you're trying to make.

Out of one batch of material to make a fly (say, a pheasant tail nymph or an elk hair caddis), how many flies would I roughly be able to make?

Yeah. No. Not really any cost savings, but damned addictive. If you don't count your time, and only one fly, you might break even. But it never stops there.

I think in the long term it could be cost effective, but for the most part not. If you don't enjoy tying, and are only doing it to save a few bucks, it will probably not be worth it with how much time it will take up (a lot) versus how much money you would save (not much)

Tie flies if you enjoy doing it. It can be therapeutic. If you really don't enjoy tying, buy your flies on your cheapest online source. However, don't pass up the opportunity to stop in the local fly shop every now and then. You will drop a little more coin on flies but may meet some great folks and in the process and get some great tips on the local waters.

962204476cd6299a36e78e7fc19f1ef6.jpg

I think you could tie 100 elk hair caddis for less than it would cost to buy them.

Hooks $15-$20 (less for Allen or Saber than for Mustad or Tiemco)
Hackle $20 for a Whiting 100 pack
Hair $5
Dubbing $3

Where can you buy 100 flies for $50? If you can, what is the quality of them? Will it be Tiemco hooks and Whiting hackle?