Caddis Fly

thebassman

thebassman

Hey everyone!

So I am very new to fly tying. Like...brand new. I am having difficult tying a caddis dry fly.

Out of a dozen attempts tonight these are the two that turned out the best.

unnamed_zps697003d4.jpg

unnamed-1_zps80fc5268.jpg

I have a feeling the bottom patterns wing casing is to long, but I could be wrong.

I was wondering if there was an easier caddis pattern I should try when learning or any tricks that I should know about. I have the habit of crowding the eye of the hook on these big time. These are a size 16 fyi. The hackle used is from a whiting 100 pack of size 16. Looking for feedback on how to improve. Is there a particular style of caddis that you prefer over the others?

What other dry fly patterns should I focus on as a beginner?

They both look fine and that bottom one will get some eats... would make a good imitation of a Yellow Sally. If they are on the water believe me you will be happy if you have that fly in your box. Tie more just like that.

Yup I think they look good. Are you stacking the elk hair before. You tie it in? That could help a bit. On the top one - if you use fewer thread wraps and make them tighter you could flare the cut ends of the elk hair to form sort of a head. That's what you usually see on EHC. Not that it makes any difference at all as far as catching fish.

The wing on the bottom one is a bit long for a caddis, but still very fishable. I like that style of caddis - with all the hackle at the front the fly is great for skittering across the surface of the water without sinking. Plus I feel like those ones are more likely to land right side up (for me and my casting/tying) than the standard EHC.

love the henryville special, but it is not the most durable.