Biot Bodies

BelAirSteve

BelAirSteve

As I have said in my other posts, I am still very new to tying, but I am having a blast. I am reading a lot, and tying a lot. My home water is the Gunpowder, and the midge fishing is pretty good there in the winter. I have seen articles and videos on biot bodies for dry flies, but I wonder if anyone ties midges with biots for the natural segmentation effect.

Biots make for decent dry bodies..I wouldn't use them for less then, say, size 16 though..

sundrunk wrote:
Biots make for decent dry bodies..I wouldn't use them for less then, say, size 16 though..

I agree with Sundrunk.

Quills make great midge bodies though. I use the very thin quill tops for midge bodies. They look awesome! I save the rest of the quill (the thicker part) for a normal sized dry fly.

Try using the biots for trailing shucks , you squeeze em with needle nose pliers and it gives it that segmented look then tie in at the bend of your midge , put a little floatant on there and you're good to go.

Maybe, I am confused or a glutton for frustration, but I use biots primarily for size 16 and 18.

What are you frustrated about?

u can tie midges with biots , no problem ,

Frustration comes from relegating self to smaller sizes.

I don't know about wrapping biots for fly bodies , will have to experiment there a little , to use them as a trailing shuck though , you can go as big as the biot , i'm sure 16 n 18 will work.

Mike Heck ties a really nice midge pupae pattern with a biot abdomen down to a size 24 I believe. Don't limit yourself to 16 and larger for biot it just takes practice.

BelAirSteve,