Lake Wallenpaupack

evofly

evofly

I'm new to fly fishing but, loving every minute of it! The family and I are heading up to Lake Wallenpaupack this weekend for one last summer fling before the kids head back to school.

I've never fly fished the lake so am looking for some advise on patterns and maybe even some hints as to where to wet my line.

Thanks!

Hi Evofly,
Welcome to the Paff forums and our online community. If you haven't already noticed, we have a Beginner's Forum where fly fishing (FFing) newbies can ask questions or seek advice.
With respect to Wallenpaupack - I'm not from that part of the state and don't regularly fish it so can't offer specific spots. Oftentimes, in larger lakes and impoundments, fish tend to be deep this time of year. However, early morning or late evening can see fish a bit shallower. I'd try fishing a small popper around shoreline cover like fallen trees or lilly pads. This ought to get some sunfish or small bass. A pair of bead head or weighted nymphs fished deeper under a strike indicator might work too and would be more likely to get you some crappies or perch. Trout are probably too deep to chase with FFing gear.... but you should be able to find panfish and they're great fun on a fly rod.

Thanks for the reply. I've been surfing through the beginner's section for a few days now. Some really great info in there.

Thanks for the recommendations for the lake. My plan of attack was to hop in my kayak and work the banks from about 20 to 30 feet out casting in towards the bank. I figured I'd get some action, especially from panfish.

MY fly arsenal is not very big right now but, I do have some terrestrials, poppers and wooly buggers that I figured I'd try. I also have some smaller clouser minnows that I thought might work as well. I only have a 5wt rod I picked up from Cabela's at the moment. I believe the line is a floating line.

To target deeper fish how would you go about doing so? Sinking line with clousers?