Jean's Run-

KeithS

KeithS

If you can give me a head's up, please PM me. THANKS.

You probably should not attempt to fish it at this time of year.

Because you said so or is there a reason or two behind your admonition?

Safety.....

How does that help anyone?

Treacherous

So, what, I'm a dentist?

No, you are a lawyer.

Shane, what's the concern? Hunters, ice, what ?

Ice

Becker is right. Too dangerous.

It's steep, rough terrain and very likely to be icy now.

It would be a very tough situation for rescuers if you should fall and get hurt in there.

Thanks for the head's up. Becker gave me an alternative and I'll be on the road shortly.

Good advice here. This is as rough as they come, a real ballbuster. I know a couple of nuts...I mean friends... on this forum who have fished it in Winter, but would not recommend it. Even in good weather this is on my list of streams I would not even consider fishing alone, period. You get hurt in this one and you're in some trouble.

Keith,
I love the stream, but I would never fish it alone during the winter. It is one of the steepest brookies streams in PA, we're talking probably a 50% gradient from the mouth to the top of the mountain. That gradient means for every foot forward you go up a half foot.
Having said that people do go there to fish and hike during the winter, but take someone along so if something happens, you'll have help.
During the warm weather season it's difficult to fish at best because of the brush and gradient. That's why Becker says don't fish it during the winter.

Can you believe it? I was helpful with a brookie stream! Let me know how it worked out for ya Keith.

Shane,
The other suggestion didn't work out too well. I guess I just need to do more research before heading out. It sure was nice just to be outside today, though.