California Help

tstooge26

tstooge26

Hello everyone

Just found out I'm heading to Berkeley California for a week for work. I'm thinking about staying an extra weekend to do some fishing and I was wondering if anyone had any input on places to go. Was reading some and I'm worried about high waters since I'm going in early April but I have no experience out there. I would love to target cutthroat since I have never caught one. I am considering getting a guide but if don't have to and am able to do it myself that would be nice. Any info would be great

Thanks for all the help

I would get a guide your first day and use what you learned for the rest of the week. Get all the knowledge you can from him of other areas to fish and what they are using

tstooge26 wrote:
Hello everyone

Just found out I'm heading to Berkeley California for a week for work. I'm thinking about staying an extra weekend to do some fishing and I was wondering if anyone had any input on places to go. Was reading some and I'm worried about high waters since I'm going in early April but I have no experience out there. I would love to target cutthroat since I have never caught one. I am considering getting a guide but if don't have to and am able to do it myself that would be nice. Any info would be great

Thanks for all the help

Head north on the 5 to the Redding area. Check out the link below with a regional stream report. Many of the reports give opening dates for fishing, since some rivers and lakes are not yet open for the season. Good luck.

Northern Cal stream reports

Most streams and rivers are closed until the last Saturday in April.

The closest stream to Berkeley that will be open in early April is Putah Creek.

There are parts of the upper Sacremento which are open, but expect a multi-hour drive to get there.

April is the tail end of the rainy season; expect high water everywhere.