Big Spring/Newville????

F

Fishwagen

I have the day off tomorrow and wouldn't you know it...a warming trend!!! How's that for luck? Anyway, thought about venturing up to Big Spring in Newville and give it a go.

It will be my first time on this creek so I have little knowledge other than what I have found on this site and other articles.

Without giving up anyone's "spot", what are the better sections to focus on? don't mind prospecting a bit, but since its only a short trip I would rather make it a little easier.

Also, where is the "Ditch?"

Any help would be appreciated.

On a map, locate creek mouth to headwaters/spring. The ditch is just below the spring. You can travel the entire stretch by car in less than 15 minutes and see the water nearly the whole way. The upper portion is not stocked by PFBC. The closer you get to the ditch, the more stream-bred trout will dominate. Like Spring Creek, there is no bad place to put in. Just start walking and observing. Stay out of the water until you know what you want to do fishing-wise.

As Jack pointed out, the "ditch" is the very uppermost (upstream) section of this stream and is about 150 yards in length and goes up to the spring source. The lower end of the ditch is obvious due to the presence of an old concrete mill dam. There is a PFBC parking lot right at that spot.

There are wild fish all down through the FF section - not just the ditch. There are, however, more brook trout in the ditch and immediately downstream. As you work further downstream there are more rainbows.

There is a ton of discussion on this forum if you want to learn about this stream. Use the Advanced Search button at the bottom of this page to read additional threads on this popular topic.

Thanks for the replies. I read a little more from some of the posts and figured it out as well, however your directions removed all doubt. I was actually looking at the creek backwards at first.