Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 (3)

Re: Potential consequences for the private stocking

Jack,
Since you live in SW Pa., here is the contact info for the educational outreach personnel at the SW Regional Law Enforcement Office in Somerset. I expect that that individual will either answer directly or ask the Law Enforcement supervisors at that office to answer your question. I would recommend that you just copy your questions to this individual. I would refer you to the individual by name, but I don't know who covers the educational outreach in SW Pa.

ra-swedureach@state.pa.us

Posted on: 2011/2/14 13:44

From LV
I've caught enough wild trout in Cold Run over the years to know that the trout population is way up and warrents being surveyed for it's current status. As for Sacony Creek I've never fished it I have no knowledge of it other than it has a wild trout population.
But another stream that has been surveyed and isn't on the list is Pocono Creek. Unfortunately it's nearly all on private land as such it wouldn't have many advocates. It is threatened by development and literally being overrun by greed along the rt 611 corridor.

Posted on: 2011/2/19 20:33

I think what happens in cold run is the brookies move down into the stocked water in the winter. From experiance the class A section is a higher population once summer comes and the bigger stocked water has more brookies in the winter. The stocked section is most likely class A though. Certainly if it wasnt stocked it would be. A stream that has cool summer temperatures and good habitat should be able to maintain class A status below its headwaters in my opinion the stocked section is great brookie water.

Posted on: 2011/2/19 22:26