Breeches Dam Removal

S

SonOfMartin

It can only improve. lower water temps...less siltation...dams are bad...

There is going to be terrible bank erosion. I have been doing research at Franklin & Marshall College for the past two years that focuses on sedimentation due to the removal of colonial mill dams. Across the state thousands of dams were built and stored trillions of tons of sediment that erode off the hillslopes during colonial land clearing. Breeching these dams results in massive erosion of the unstable sediments trapped upstream. Eventually the stream will cut down to gravel and then begin to widen. The stream will become shallow and thus raise temperatures once it become too wide. In my opinion, dams should only be removed in conjunction with restoration projects. Otherwise, nothing is ultimately gained. Furthermore, most of our "prestine" restored trout water has been restored in an inefficient matter. The solution is returning the streams to what they were prior to European arrival. For more information go to www.landstudies.com. They are the only restoration company that currently does restoration with the attempt to return streams to natural conditions. Not to be offensive, but I feel that many conservation groups are wasting their money by designing our streams to function like western streams. Anyway, these are my thoughts on the removal of the dam.

I am not educated what so ever in Geology/Engineering.

Is the effort to really return the stream/rivers to the way they were before europeans came? I do not think that is possible due to all of the development that has taken place since.

Moreover; I personally am more intersted in making the water better for the fish and ie fishing.

I'm not sure I follow your reasoning on how removing the dam will widen the stream. The dam is widening the stream now, removing it will allow the stream to cut to it's natural channel.