what flies should I start out with?

bassfever

bassfever

I'm new to fly fishing and wondering what flies I should start out with.
it's overwhelming how many different flies there are.
Is there maybe 6 or 8 different flies that I can start out with, and still have some success?
I am in south eastern Pennsylvania.
Thanks.

BF,

Did you look for hatch charts for your area? In addition for asking for help here, it's a good reference point.

http://www.djlflyfishers.org/hatches.htm

Tricos are one for this time of year, wooly buggers and various nymphs are always god flies to have in your box. Another good selection for this time of year is various terrestrials, such as hoppers, ants and beetles.

Hope this helps!

Wooly Buggers are one of the all time favorites and they are real fish catchers. I would recommend size 8 or 10 (black, brown, olive, white). Beadheads are good as well as a bit of flash every now and then. Fish them up, down, across, swing 'em, strip 'em it really does not matter a whole lot how you fish them. As long as you have it in the water you have a chance. I have hooked many fish over the years on WBs while they were dangling in the current below me while I wasn't paying attention. Welcome to PAFF, keep an open mind and you will learn a lot from these guys. Good luck and have fun!

bassfever wrote:
I'm new to fly fishing and wondering what flies I should start out with.
it's overwhelming how many different flies there are.
Is there maybe 6 or 8 different flies that I can start out with, and still have some success?
I am in south eastern Pennsylvania.
Thanks.

From your name and after reading your past posts, I assume you are asking about bass flies.

No need to sweat about flies, a hand-full of basic flies are all that's needed to catch bass.

Get yourself some wooly buggers in some dark and light colors (maybe black or olive for dark, and white or chartreuse for light).