Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: questions about line weights

From SEPA
I was under the suspicion he was going to buy a new line?

Meh, whichever. I'm still right. I'm always right.

Posted on: 2010/12/30 20:56

the wild water rods are pretty stiff and don't have a lot of feeling in them at their designated line rating. That, plus being a newbie, i'd get a 5wt line. Allen FF, a site sponsor, has what you need, at the right price. also, head to your local fly shop and get yourself a new reel. bring the rod with you to match it up (balance it out)and don't spend alot - look for okumas or entry level reels. They should also hook you up with leaders and explain the difference between them and tippet. Oh, they will have flies there too.
:) Get some nymphs and wolly buggers. Also, ask the shop for some indicators and inquire on the leaders needed for that, where your spinning mono will work. Learn blood knots and perfections loops, assuming you know how to tie on a fly.
depending on where you are located, I'm sure a forum member could help you through the learning process.
Welcome to PAFF!

Posted on: 2010/12/30 22:02

From Berks
I'm going to PM you some info, but as far as that reel goes, it looks kinda small. I second taking it to a shop and having them give it the once over. If it does turn out to be to small for the 4wt, I would suggest shelling out $25 and get a Medalist. It's cheap, built like a tank and will probably outlast you. :)

Posted on: 2010/12/30 22:47

www.flyfishinado.blogspot.com Fly Fishing Blog

From Westmoreland Co