fishing very small streams

PhilipE

PhilipE

Hello,
I was wondering if any one could give some tips on fishing very small cold streams. The fish are rainbows and bookies.
I am a beginner, and any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

I used to fish brookies exclusively and now fish in Fall, Winter and early Spring.

The biggest thing that helped me was experience.

I used to hook 5 and land 2 in about a 4 hour period (and I thought it was awesome). Now it's nothing to hook into 50+ and land 40+.

Those fish were always there, I just spooked them.

Learning where they like to hide and how to present your fly to them without being seen is key; they will hit it on the first time.

Do not fish a hole more than 3 good cast, or 5 total. The fish were either spooked or not there.

I prefer flies that I can see in the water as well. In the Winter you have to get the fly down. 1 fly is sufficient and multiple rigs will just get tangled with each other or the brush.

I can go on all day, but basically find what works for you and get a lot of practice.

Also prospect to find trout. this means spook a couple holes to see where the fish are hiding. Most of the fish will be in similar locals. This changes from day to day and from hour to hour or stretch to stretch sometimes.

MKern wrote:
Those fish were always there, I just spooked them.

LOL.........yup.

Here an article on the basics of small stream fishing that I posted before. The author is from the UK, but trout are trout:

http://www.gwentanglingsociety.co.uk/articles/articles

I commend you for taking on the challange of fishing small streams as a beginner :-D. I'm still pretty new to the FF game, and not an expert by any means. I'm probably at the "5-2" stage MKern talked about. However, I'll share what I have learned about fishing small streams so far...