buy flies in bulk???

B

blakew510

I'm a college student so obviously I'm hard on money. I can't keep buying flies at $2 a pop at fly shops. Are there any shops online where I can buy flies in bulk at a cheap price?

blakew510 wrote:
I'm a college student so obviously I'm hard on money. I can't keep buying flies at $2 a pop at fly shops. Are there any shops online where I can buy flies in bulk at a cheap price?

These are the cheapest fly prices I know about > Big Y Fly

You may want to consider tying your own at some point.

There are plenty of places on the internet to get them - like Big Y Fly (see afishinado's link), The Fly Shack, Fly Deal Flies, The Fly Stop, etc. The cheaper the fly, the less quality materials used though - and likely made in a 3rd world country. They won't last you multiple fish - especially dry flies. There are other companies that have quality flies from overseas (see Fulling Mill), but they are your standard $2.25.

As a word of caution to Big Y Fly, but I have seen multiple people disappointed with their flies on Facebook with regards to quality, and the fly actually resembling the pattern they wanted...I haven't had a problem with The Fly Shacks flies - but they are a little more expensive (89 cents on average I think) than the cheapest ones available.

Or you can tie, as mentioned above...but that likely won't save you much in the long run. :lol:

blakew510 wrote:

what kind of flies do you use most?

https://www.theflystop.com/fly-fishing-flies-discount

i use a lot of wooly buggers, san juans, and whatever my fly store recommends for the day. lol. My most successful fly of all time however is an elk hair caddis