Zebra midges in July?

R

RRizz

Hey fellas i have had good success this season useing Hares ear and beaded pheasant tail,started out with size 16 then 18 and now size 20,but the last week no luck at all. I realize temp change and water depth could be changing and perhaps my locations that held fish perhaps no longer are. Should i be putting on different nymps and also whats everyones thoughts on Zebra midges size 20 when warmer weather hits especially in July?

I have been moveing my indicator to water depth changes.

Any help is appreciated being that i am a newbie.

Thanks,Robert

Zebra midges work year 'round. They imitate so many small insects that they're worth fishing any time. Midges also hatch all year.

I love zebra midges. And 20's are all I fish/tie. Try messing around with different colors, too. Red, green, black, brown, cream. As JayL said, they imitate a lot of bugs/worms, and trout are usually willing to eat them as they float by. Use them as nymphs, or hang them from a dry.

It wont be long before the major hatches are over and they will work even better. I agree with jayL, I use them in January and in late summer thats all you see hatching. I watch the fish in the pools when midges are hatching in the summer, they don't come up for the midges most of the time, they just slowly cruise around gulping them up as they are riseing.

The pic below is of one I use year round. It was taken out of my flybox when I took the pic, you can see that it's been chewed on, not as bad as some I have.

Attachments

• IMG_7072.JPG
    IMG_7072.JPG
    590.5 KB · Views: 3
Very helpful thanks fellas.

gochs.. What dry fly do you suggest or is that just used to float it or as an indicator?

In winter do i tie on something else with the midge and dureing summer and winter do i try to get it close as possible to bottom.

Buffalo 7 any particular name for that midge?