Your favorite set up

H

hof52

hello this is my first post here figured id sign up so i can learn as much as i can before spring time. Im 15 years old and do pretty good trout fishing but im just starting out with the fly rod. So for my first post would you guys say is your go to trout fly(s) on the pa streams i no its a broad question but im just trying to learn some rigs for this spring.
thanks for the advice
adam

hare's ears, prince and pheasant tail nymphs, wooly buggers, green weenies

For dry flies it depends on the hatch or time of year but BWOs and caddis are a good bet as well as terrestrials (ants,beetles etc)in the summer.

If you can,attend the newbie jam in March. Details are in the events forum

CathyG wrote:

If you can,attend the newbie jam in March. Details are in the events forum

X2. Ill be there instructing.

Dear newbie:

Your thread will rapidly grow into a mutliheaded dragon, and it will be filled with lots of people desperate to help you. Its very nice of them, and they mean well and they know lots and lots of things but all its really going to do in teh end is confuse the hell out of you because none of it matters, you just want to catch a fish on this stupid thing, right?

So, allow me to get on the ground floor before it becomes chaos. Everyone's "goto flies" don't matter. None of it does. Especially since you just want to learn. So do this:
Goto your local sprotting goods store and buy:
A couple of 9' 5x leaders.
A spool of 5x tippet.
Lots of size 14 pheasant tail nymphs.
A handful of size 14 Adamases.
A little tin of those itty bitty "fly fishing" split shot.
Some foam indicators, or whatever.

Then go fishing. Learn to "cast" about 15' of fly line, plus that leader. Congrats, that's good enough.

Tie the pheasant tail on.

If the water is swift and deep, use one of those stupid splitshot 8" above it. If not, don't. Or do. -shrug- The mysteries of life.