Winter Flies (SW PA)

fishingkidPA

fishingkidPA

Im new to fly fishing and want to get out in the winter and do some fishing. I will be fishing pine creek right now, i know the bites slow but what are some good choices for winter flies. Thanks

Welcome to PAFF! I'm from Upstate NY so I can't really help you with any specifics of SW PA. Our winter fishing sucks, because most of our rivers and streams are closed off, or iced over, but when it gets early to late in march, which is probably what you guys face most of the winter when dealing with ice on the water. Well.

BH stoneflies seem to work well at this time of year, and I usually see that the bigger you tie them, the better off you are. If you are attempting dry fly fishing, though I've had little luck(Meaning only shiners) you should go with midges. In hook sizes 22 and 24, but I really don't even bother with dries until April and even then it is usually with gnats, and small caddis. Nymphing is the way to go in my opinion. Good luck, and I'm sure there are many on here who could be more area specific than myself.

Try some small egg patterns or a pink san juan worm. I don't know if Pine gets the little black stonefly, but if it does a small black stonefly nymph (maybe size 16) can work as can a dry if you see fish rising. If you don't have a specific imitation for the little black stone dry, a black caddis in the appropriate sized will do in a pinch. Size 16-18 for the dry. My best success comes from skittering the dry on the surface.

albatross wrote:
I don't know if Pine gets the little black stonefly,

No stones that I've ever seen.
Start with a red san juan & midge pupa tandem. If that doesn't work, try a hares ear & caddis pupa. If that doesn't work...well, I don't think I've ever had to go beyond that on Pine.
Buggers, eggs, PTs...all the standards will work.