Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Valley Creek and Strike Indicators

From Philadelphia
Hi guys. I have fly fished twice, ever, on a recent trip to Patagonia. Pretty amazing place to try out this beautiful sport for the first time. I suck at it, but I am nevertheless obsessed and dedicated to making a good go of it. Heck, I even READ a River Runs Through It! Anyhow, I just bought the stuff I need to get started and plan on going by myself for the first time to Valley Creek this Saturday. I have a 9' 5wt Orvis Clearwater rod and have some basic questions, like...

Is Valley Creek horrible for a novice because the fish are so spooky and I'm a garbage novice caster?

Is my rod too long and line to heavy?

How does a 10ft 5x leader with 5' 6x tippet sound? I know it depends on the fly size...

After doing some flailing around the internet about Pennsylvania spring flies, I bought a sampling of things I saw consistently across a few forums, but probably bought them in the wrong sizes (i.e., too big) for spring/Valley Creek. Specifically, I bought:

Prince Nymphs: #12 / #14
Gold Bead Hares Ear Nymph: #12
Adams Dry Fly: #12 / #14
Quill Gordon Dry: #12
Wd-40: #20
Griffiths Gnat Dry Fly: #18
Elkwing Caddis Dry Fly: #16
Slow Water Caddis Dry: #16

I also bought the Orvis Eastern Trout Spring selection, featuring a variety in sizes 14-18: http://www.orvis.com/p/eastern-trout-spring-selection/79x6